About New River Transit Authority

Progress in Motion, Fayette and Raleigh Counties moving forward with NRTA.

Data gathered per the 2010 U.S. Census has resulted in the designation of parts of Fayette and Raleigh Counties combined as being urbanized, meaning that the area sustains a population of at least 50,000 residents. As a result of this new designation, the transportation funding formula for the area has also changed from a rural formula to an urban one. This change has required the collaborative efforts of local officials and transportation stakeholders in order to move seamlessly into the future.

As a result of these efforts, the New River Transportation Authority (NRTA) has been established to serve as the designated recipient of Federal Transit Authority (FTA) grants, which are necessary to sustain and improve upon transit in the two county area.

NRTA looks forward to serving the citizens of Fayette and Raleigh Counties and is grateful to have the opportunity to accommodate the area’s growth.

General Programs and Policies

Summarized Transit Operational Policies

Click Here

NRT Bid Protest Procedures

Procurement Procedures